Born of Frustration

Lillian and her mom

I have never been good with big lessons. The moment someone tells me I ought to do something, I dig in my heels. Patience is a big lesson I have never really managed to learn. The thing about micro preemies is everything goes so s-l-o-w. We make a little bit of progress one day and it’s undone the next.

I seem to be having the hardest time with the little progress aspect of the NICU. I realize that maybe I ought to take this time to learn patience. But since I “ought” to I don’t want to. As Josh astutely pointed out, I am the Veruca Salt of level 3: I want it now!

Her breathing progresses in the tiniest of steps. The main thing is that her lungs make minuscule progress every day. I don’t know how other parents sit like saints at their child’s bedside. I sit there chanting “grow lungs grow!”  I can work myself into a horrible mood in seconds by dwelling on her breathing.

But, some days I astonish myself with how much patience I’ve gained. I don’t watch her alarms, trusting Lillian to work her way out of any “de-sats”, which she does regularly with no trouble. The next day I am made of frustration. Nothing is going fast enough, and I can get obsessive about every alarm beep. I even hear the alarms in my sleep.

Lillian in her Mom's hands

Unfortunately Lillian is her mother’s daughter. As soon as the Doctor thinks she ought to be weaned from the vent, she digs in her heels and refuses to budge. She is almost a month old and already has a determined face. It says, “I am determined to ruin the day of anyone who crosses me.” I am told this is a good sign.

So Lillian and I both wait for her to get big. We both are frustrated by the long road ahead. Hey, at least we’re not alone on that road. I can hold her hand, and sometimes she even holds mine.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eric Olson
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 13:41:34

    A determined face is always a good sign. Stubbornness is a tremendously helpful trait in a micro-preemie. Its obvious that Lillian’s a fighter.

    I wish I could tell you that things get easier in the NICU when it comes to needing patience. It doesn’t. But being patient is something that all parents need to learn, in the NICU or otherwise. I’m still trying to learn it.

    I am glad that you can now post from Lillian’s bedside as it is something that helped my wife and I during our stay in the NICU.

    Hang in there Mom. Your strength, love and devotion to Lillian are obvious and are the most important treatments that she could possibly receive.

    My family’s thoughts go out to you and yours. Keep your head up and take care of yourself.

  2. Bonnie Cameron
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 20:44:23

    Dear Ashley,

    I can only imagine what you are going through. I have learned that if I focus on the positive– the positive grows. If I focus on the negative–it will grow–so I choose to avoid this as best I can. All we have is this moment–I find it helpful to look at what I have to be grateful for during tough times. Lillian put on more weight–this is wonderful! We do not know what the future will bring–so just keeping in the moment helps me. “the trying of your faith worketh patience. But let patience have her perfect work that you may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.” (The Epistle General of James)

    Our prayers are with you,

    Love Aunt BJ and Unlce Lonny